CONNECT WITH US:            

CCHL Hands Out 2017-18 Season Awards

By Mike Beasley on March 19, 2018


It’s the most exciting time of the hockey season with the first round playoff pairings now determined and league awards being handed out.

General Manager of the Year
Jason Clarke, Carleton Place Canadians

The Canadians head coach, GM and owner has been named the winner of this season’s General Manager of the Year award.

This marks the second occasion that Clarke has been named the CCHL’s GM of the Year. He won the award last season as well. The veteran CCHL bench boss has two “Coach of the Year” Awards (13-14/14-15) to his credit.

Clarke led the Carleton Place Canadians to a 53-5-1-3 (110 pts.) record in 2017-2018 to capture their fifth consecutive regular season title. The Carleton Place, Ontario native has also had the Canadians at #1 in the CJHL Rankings for more than half the season.

His squad currently has 11 players committed to an NCAA hockey program.

Clarke’s teams have won four consecutive Bogart Cups and have their names on three Fred Page Cups. The Canadians have made it to the RBC Cup on three occasions.

“Individual accolades are very nice because they are voted on by my peers,” Clarke said. “It’s nice to know that the guys around the league think I’m doing a good job.” 

Coach of the Year
Jesse Winchester, Brockville Braves

The Cornwall, Ontario native finished off his first full season as a head coach in the CCHL leading his Braves to a third place finish with 80 points courtesy of a 38-20-2-2 record.

The former NHL forward spent parts of eight seasons with the Ottawa Senators, Florida Panthers and Colorado Avalanche before taking over behind the bench in Brockville this season. 

Rookie of the Year/Top Prospect of the Year
Jack Quinn, Kanata Lasers

Quinn, 16, scored 21 goals, 25 assists for 46 points over 49 games to lead all CCHL first year players in goals and points.

The Ottawa, Ontario native was drafted by the Lasers in 2nd round of the 2016 CCHL Bantam Draft.  He was named the HEO Midget AAA Rookie of the Year last season skating with the Lasers U18 program, registering 28 goals and 52 points in 45 games.

Defenceman of the Year
Tim Theocharidis, Carleton Place Canadians

Theocharidis, 19, is currently in his third and final year with the Carleton Place Canadians as he is set to join Bowling Green University NCAA D1 next season.

He finished the regular season with 17G-41A, 58 points to crack the Top Ten in CCHL scoring.

“Tim is clearly the Defenceman of the Year in our league and probably the best player in the CCHL, he could even be the best player in Canada,” said Canadians GM and head coach, Jason Clarke.

“I’ve been around Junior ‘A’ hockey in Canada for 15 years and seen a lot of excellent players. Only D Cale Makar during his time with the AJHL Brooks Bandits and Team Canada West (World Jr. A Challenge 15/16) was better.

Tim has a bright future ahead of him.”

Sportsmanship and Ability Award/Top Graduating Player/Most Valuable Player
David Jankowski, Hawkesbury Hawks

The Hawks team captain and St. Lawrence University commit led the CCHL in scoring this season with 38-52, 90 points. 

Goaltender of the Year
Cornwall Colts net-minder, Liam Lascelle captured CCHL honours as the top goalie in the circuit.

The 20 year old had an exceptional season with the Cornwall Colts, registering a 2.72 GAA with a .927 SV%. He also had 4 shutouts during the course of the season.

First All-Star Team

F- Matthew Barnaby, Pembroke Lumber Kings 

F- David Jankowski, Hawkesbury Hawks 

F-Samuel Knoblauch, Carleton Place Canadians

D-Tim Theocharidis, Carleton Place Canadians 

D-Jonathan Hill, Brockville Braves 

G-Liam Lascelle, Cornwall Colts 

HC-Jesse Winchester, Brockville Braves

GM- Jason Clarke, Carleton Place Canadians

Second All-Star Team

F- Chiwetin Blacksmith, Ottawa Jr. Senators 

F-Owen Guy, Ottawa Jr. Senators 

F- Travis Broughman, Carleton Place Canadians

D- Zachary Salloum, Ottawa Jr. Senators 

D-Andrew Jarvis, Brockville Braves 

G-Justin Evenson, Brockville Braves 

HC-Jason Clarke, Carleton Place Canadians

Clarke led his team to a Canada best 53-5-1-3 record and reached 100 plus points for the fourth time in five seasons.

GM- Martin Dagenais, Ottawa Jr. Senators

Third All-Star Team

F-Pierre Luc Veillette, Ottawa Jr. Senators 

F-Nick Lalonde, Ottawa Jr. Senators 

F-Geoff Kitt, Carleton Place Canadians 

D-Aidan Girduckis, Carleton Place Canadians  

D-Liam Markhauser, Kanata Lasers 

G-Jeremie Forget, Carleton Place Canadians 

HC- Nathan Hewitt, Kanata Lasers

GM-Rick Dorval, Hawkesbury Hawks

All-Rookie Team

F-Fletcher Anderson, Hawkesbury Hawks 

F-Curtis Fabbro, Navan Grads 

F-Jack Quinn, Kanata Lasers 

D- Simon Mack, Brockville Braves 

D-Jordan Power, Rockland Nationals 

G-Gabriel Carriere, Kanata Lasers 

All-Graduate team

F-Pierre Luc Veillette, Ottawa Jr. Senators (Lake Superior State Lakers) 

F-David Jankowski, Hawkesbury Hawks (St. Lawrence Saints) 

F-Geoff Kitt, Carleton Place Canadians (Mercyhurst Lakers) 

D-Zachary Salloum, Ottawa Jr. Senators (RIT Tigers) 

D- Andrew Jarvis, Brockville Braves, (Carleton Ravens) 

G-Liam Lascelle, Cornwall Colts (non-committed)


Back to Top

By Mike Beasley| March 19, 2018
Categories:  Junior

Add A Comment


Allowed HTML: <b>, <i>, <u>, <a>




Most Read:
1) JUNIOR B UPDATE: KIJHL’s Castlegar Rebels announce new coach and GM; Sharp calling the shots for HJHL’s Three Hills Thrashers
2) On Top of the World: CSSHL Keeps Gaining Traction in Canada’s Hockey Landscape
3) Around the WHL: Eleven WHL players help Canada win Hlinka Gretzky gold; Tigers deal White to ICE
4) Meet Matthew Savoie, the NAX Forward Taking the CSSHL by Storm
5) Meet The Winners Of The 2018 HockeyNow Minor Hockey Player Of The Year Award Powered By Hockeyshot

Cumberland Grads netminder making the most of CCHL opportunity

- See more at:

Krebs and Byram making strong case for top-round consideration in 2016 WHL Draft

- See more at: