CONNECT WITH US:            

QMJHL Hands Out Hardware for 2016-17 Season

By Mike Beasley on April 07, 2017

Gatineau's Vitalii Abramov was selected as this year's MVP and named to the 1st All-Star Team.  (Courtesy of the QMJHL)  

The QMJHL held its annual Gold Puck Awards Gala on April 5 in Quebec City. 

The Gala is usually held in Montreal but Quebec City had its turn to host the prestigious event this year. 

The evening began with the Hall of Fame celebration followed by the individual award winners and rosters of the first, second and rookie all-star teams.

Referee Luc Lachapelle was named posthumously to the Hall of Fame, after succumbing to cancer in 2015 at the age of 61.

Former players Francis Bouillon, Gaston Therrien, Jean-Sébastien Giguère and Brad Richards were also honoured and named inductees. 

Following that acknowledgement, the individual player awards were handed out.

Jacques-Plante Trophy:  Goaltender with the best Goals Against Average
Francis Leclerc, Blainville-Boisbriand Armada, with a 2.31 G.A.A

Rookie of the Year
F Nico Hischier, Halifax Mooseheads. The native of Switzerland finished the regular season with 38 goals and 86 points in 57 games.

Ron Lapointe Trophy:  Coach of the Year 
Dany Flynn, Saint John Sea Dogs who, in his second year as the Sea Dogs head coach, was able to lead his team to the top of the QMJHL standings with 102 points.

Marcel-Robert Trophy: Scholastic Player of the Year 
Antoine Samuel, Baie-Comeau Drakkar

Emile-Bouchard Trophy: Defenceman of the Year
Thomas Chabot, Saint John Sea Dogs. The Ottawa Senators draft pick scored 10 goals and 45 points in only 34 games.

Humanitarian and Community Involvement Trophy 
Samuel Laberge, Rimouski Océanic

Frank J. Selke: Most Sportsmanlike Player
Hugo Roy from the Sherbrooke Phoenix spent only four minutes in the penalty box in 68 games this season while scoring 34-26-60 points.

Michael Bossy Trophy:  Best Professional Prospect
Nico Hischier, Halifax Mooseheads

Maurice Filion Trophy: General Manager of the Year 
Joël Bouchard, Blainville-Boisbriand Armada

Paul Dumont Trophy: Personality of the Year 
Thomas Chabot, Saint John Sea Dogs. 

Michel-Brière Trophy: Most Valuable Player
Vitalii Abramov, Gatineau Olympqiues. The Columbus Blue Jackets’ prospect led the QMJHL in scoring this past season with 104 points. 

Guy-Carbonneau Trophy: Best Defensive Forward
Nicolas Roy, Chicoutimi Saguenéens

Kevin Lowe Trophy Best Defensive Defenceman
Zachary Lauzon, Rouyn-Noranda Huskies

1st All-Star Team
G  Mikhail Denisov (Shawinigan Cataractes)
D  Thomas Chabot (Saint John Sea Dogs)
D  Samuel Girard (Shawinigan Cataractes)
C  Nicolas Roy (Chicoutimi Saguenéens)
LW Giovannie Fiore (Cape Breton Screaming Eagles)
RW Vitalii Abramov (Gatineau Olympiques)

2nd All-Star Team
G Samuel Montembeault (Blainville-Boisbriand Armada)
D Guillaume Brisebois (Charlottetown Islanders)
D  Simon Bourque (Saint John Sea Dogs)
C  Filip Chlapik (Charlottetown Islanders)
LW Christophe Boivin (Acadie-Bathurst Titan)
RW Mathieu Joseph (Saint John Sea Dogs)

Rookie All-Star Team
G  Alexis Gravel (Halifax Mooseheads)
D  Jared McIsaac (Halifax Mooseheads)
D  Xavier Bouchard (Baie-Comeau Drakkar)
C  Nico Hischier (Halifax Mooseheads)
LW Anderson Macdonald (Sherbrooke Phoenix)
RW Ivan Kosorenkov (Victoriaville Tigres)  

Back to Top

By Mike Beasley| April 07, 2017
Categories:  Major Junior
Keywords:  QMJHL

Add A Comment


Allowed HTML: <b>, <i>, <u>, <a>




Most Read:
1) JUNIOR B UPDATE: KIJHL’s Castlegar Rebels announce new coach and GM; Sharp calling the shots for HJHL’s Three Hills Thrashers
2) On Top of the World: CSSHL Keeps Gaining Traction in Canada’s Hockey Landscape
3) Around the WHL: Eleven WHL players help Canada win Hlinka Gretzky gold; Tigers deal White to ICE
4) Meet Matthew Savoie, the NAX Forward Taking the CSSHL by Storm
5) Meet The Winners Of The 2018 HockeyNow Minor Hockey Player Of The Year Award Powered By Hockeyshot

Cumberland Grads netminder making the most of CCHL opportunity

- See more at:

Krebs and Byram making strong case for top-round consideration in 2016 WHL Draft

- See more at: