CONNECT WITH US:            

Introducing the 2017 HockeyNow Minor Hockey Players of the Year

By Mike Toth on July 19, 2017


They know.

When contacting the players who win the HockeyNow Minor Hockey Player of the Year awards, one fact clearly stands out.

The players, and their families, all understand the significance of the honour.

"All you have to do is take a look at the people who have won the award in the past and it's obvious that it means a lot to the boys to be part of the fraternity," said Jim Hughes, the father of this year's Ontario Player of the Year, 16-year-old Jack Hughes.

Jack joins a pair of 15-year-olds on this year's HockeyNow honour list, as Kaiden Guhle (Alberta) and Justin Sourdif (B.C.) complete our annual trifecta.

Oh yeah.

And that famous fraternity?

Just take a look at the list.

Karl Alzner, Mathew Barzal, Curtis Lazar, Ryan Nugent-Hopkins, Morgan Rielly, Griffin Reinhart – all previous and proud winners of the HockeyNow Player of the Year award. All of the above are either established NHLers, or young players just beginning to carve out their careers in the best league in the world. This past June, in fact, two more HockeyNow Player of the Year alumnus were front and centre at the NHL Draft in Chicago. Gabe Vilardi (Ontario, 2015) was selected 11th overall by the Los Angeles Kings, while Jaret Anderson-Dolan (Alberta, 2014) was also picked by the Kings, getting snapped up with the 41st choice. 

Now, this year's winners get a chance to tell their stories.

Jack Hughes, a high-scoring centre for the Toronto Marlboros who had to deal with the pressure of performing in the huge wake of another famous Marlie grad – a guy by the name of Connor McDavid.

Kaiden Guhle, a hard-hitting, fast-skating defenceman with the Okanagan Hockey Academy Edmonton Bantam Preps who's doing a great job following in the footsteps of his big brother.

Justin Sourdif, an impressive power forward who leans on a hard-working dad who never even played hockey to help him get to where he wants to go.

You'll also read the exclusive scouting reports on this year's HockeyNow class from ISS (International Scouting Services) Hockey. ISS founder and Director of Scouting, Dennis MacInnis, plays a huge role in determining the yearly winners of the award, which emphasize "leadership, hockey ability and school and community participation.” A final nomination list of players is tabulated and a trio of players from three provinces are then selected as the ultimate winners.

But, to be honest, HockeyNow also comes away from the process feeling like winners.

After all, there's nothing better than making that initial telephone call and breaking the news to excited young men and their families.

"Congratulations, you've been named the HockeyNow Player of the Year." 

It's a hockey fraternity that just keeps on growing, and it's a pleasure to celebrate their success.

So, with that in mind, we invite you to sit back, get comfortable and read on.

Justin Sourdif Named 2017 HockeyNow Player of the Year for B.C.

Kaiden Guhle is Our 2017 Hockey Player of the Year for Alberta

Jack Hughes Wins 2017 Hockey Player of the Year Award for Ontario

Back to Top

By Mike Toth| July 19, 2017
Categories:  Minor Hockey

Add A Comment


Allowed HTML: <b>, <i>, <u>, <a>




Most Read:
1) JUNIOR B UPDATE: KIJHL’s Castlegar Rebels announce new coach and GM; Sharp calling the shots for HJHL’s Three Hills Thrashers
2) On Top of the World: CSSHL Keeps Gaining Traction in Canada’s Hockey Landscape
3) Around the WHL: Eleven WHL players help Canada win Hlinka Gretzky gold; Tigers deal White to ICE
4) Meet Matthew Savoie, the NAX Forward Taking the CSSHL by Storm
5) Meet The Winners Of The 2018 HockeyNow Minor Hockey Player Of The Year Award Powered By Hockeyshot

Cumberland Grads netminder making the most of CCHL opportunity

- See more at:

Krebs and Byram making strong case for top-round consideration in 2016 WHL Draft

- See more at: